What was the biggest storm ever?

On Oct. 12, 1979, Super Typhoon Tip's central pressure dropped to 870 mb, the lowest sea-level pressure ever observed on Earth, according to NOAA. Peak wind gusts reached 190 miles per hour while the storm churned over the western Pacific.