Who is mrs. ramsey?

Mrs. Ramsay emerges from the novel's opening pages not only as a woman of great kindness and tolerance but also as a protector. Indeed, her primary goal is to preserve her youngest son James's sense of hope and wonder surrounding the lighthouse. Though she realizes (as James himself does) that Mr.