Can i put pots and pans in the dishwasher?

It depends on what the pots and pans are made of. Specifically, any cookware that is coated with Teflon or similar materials, and are noted for being "non-stick", should not go in the dishwasher. The high heat can damage or remove some of the coating which could contaminate food when cooking.