What happens if something breaks?

It depends on what breaks. You can either do nothing, fix what broke, or get rid of the broken item.

---

It depends. If the thing that breaks is disposable, it is typically discarded. If the thing that breaks is economically repairable, then it is typically repaired. If not, then it is replaced. If the thing that breaks is crucial to the survival of one or more people, then someone dies.