What is the average lifespan of a pet fish?

Bettas on average live little more than two years, while goldfish may live for decades. Keep in mind that with good care, aquarium fish can live much longer; on the other hand, fish that are not kept in the proper habitat and are not cared for properly will likely have a shorter lifespan.