How small is a micro organism?

The size of microbes can be hard to imagine because they are so small. In comparison to animal cells, microbes tend to be smaller. They are about 1/10th the size of a typical human cell. Microbes are generally measured in the scale of one millionth of a meter, which is known as a micrometer.