Where does jam come from?

Jam is made by crushing a fruit, leaving in most of the solid pieces of the fruit’s fibers and seeds to give it a spreadable consistency. Jam is essentially fruit and sugar. In general, for every cup of fruit you use, add ¾ cup of sugar.