At what age do children learn to talk?

"Toward the end of baby's first year, he'll babble in longer strings of varied short nonsense syllables, using the intonation and rhythm mimicking that of an adult. This stage of jargon is a precursor to speaking first words, which usually happens right around a child's first birthday