What is the difference between disabled and handicapped?

First of all, they are not the same. A DISABILITY is a functional limitation, relative to a particular activity, that limits a person's movements, senses, or activities. A HANDICAP is a disadvantage in filling a role in life, relative to a peer group, which makes achievement unusually difficult.