Do apples come from flowers?

At the beginning of the summer, apple trees are covered in blossoms. To become fruit the blossoms must be cross-pollinated, generally by bees and other insects, before being fertilized. Once fertilized, the blossom falls off, giving way for the ovary to grow and expand into a fruit.