What is d. r. s.?

D R S refers to a section of a Formula 1 race that allows employment of Drag Reduction Systems. These limit the down force of the wings to decrease drag and allow for higher speeds. This is typically allowed on straight sections of the racetracks in Formula 1.

---

DRS is short for Drag Reduction System, which is a movable flap on the rear wing of an F1 car. Opening the flap reduces aerodynamic drag, making it easier for a car to accelerate and increase its top speed.