Why is hockey called hockey?

The word hockey is of unknown origin. One thought is that it derives from the Middle French word hoquet, which means a crooked shepherd's staff. The hockey stick does look a bit like one of those staves.

---

Derived from the French word "hoquet," meaning shepherds stick, giving hockey its name.