How many miles is the earth around?

Our home planet Earth measures 24,901 miles around the equator. However, from pole-to-pole, the meridional circumference, Earth is only 24,860 miles around. This shape, caused by the flattening at the poles, is called an oblate spheroid.

---

24,901

---

Earth's circumference is the distance around the Earth, either around the equator (40,075.017 km [ 24,901.461 mi ]) or around the poles (40,007.863 km [ 24,859.734 mi ])