Is there such thing as an ash tree?

Yes, there are several species of ash trees. Check with experts before planting since some species are subject to some tree disease.

---

Ash trees are medium to large trees of the genus Fraxinus of the family Oleaceae. The family contains between 45 and 65 species. Some of them are evergreen, but most are deciduous.