What does ragweed look like?

Common ragweed has a fern-like appearance. Leaflets are about 6 inches long and 4 inches across. Initially the leaves typically have some purple speckling on them. Flowers appear as small yellowish bumps. Flowers are succeeded by fruit small, dry, single-seed fruit. Each fruit is brownish.