Why do you cover tea?

Tea must do what is called "steeping", or brewing in the hot water. You attempt to keep the water hot for as long as possible, so you cover it to retain the heat. There are items called a tea cozy or a fancy cover for a tea pot that is made from a heavy fabric material, much like a jacket.