Who was william tell?

William Tell was the legendary Swiss Folk Hero, who was a virtuoso marksman with the crossbow and famous for his arching skills.

---

William Tell or Wilhelm Tell is a mythological folk hero from the 14th century who is said to be one of the founding fathers of Switzerland by freeing the people of the original Swiss cantons Schwyz, Uri and Unterwald from foreign oppression and by turning them into democracies.