How popular are australian shepherds?

Litters usually range from six to nine puppies. The average number of puppies in a litter is seven. Australian Shepherds are the 18th most popular dog breed according to the AKC. This ranking makes them more popular than dogs such as Pomeranians and Chihuahuas.