Do turtles yawn?

Yes, many turtle experts feel that yawning underwater is a sign that the turtle is really relaxed and that it is perhaps just evening out some pressure to make it easier to stay underwater. On land the turtle is yawning for the same reason that any animal yawns, to get more oxygen into the body.

---

Box turtles tend to yawn right before they eat. Like stretching their jaws. box Trutles yawn right before they eat.