When did michael oher stop playing football?

According to Wikipedia, Michael Oher signed a three-year contract extension with the Carolina Panthers on June 17, 2016. He was placed on injured reserve on November 25, 2016 with a concussion. The Panthers released him on July 20, 2017, after a failed physical.