What happens if you kill a stink bug?

According to MentalFloss.com, stink bugs release an awful smelling secretion when they feel threatened or disturbed. Stink bugs can be gently killed by vacuuming or leaving trays of soapy water. Don't kill them by mashing, squishing, or pressuring them as the bugs will release their foul secretion.

---

Killing or vacuuming stink bugs may release a foul odor.