How strong is a diamond?

Diamonds are rated 10 out of 10 on the Mohs scale of mineral hardness, which characterizes the scratch resistance of various minerals through the ability of a harder material to scratch a softer material. The Mohs scale was created in 1812 by German geologist and mineralogist Friedrich Mohs.