Who invented hair ties?

In the 1800's Thomas Hancock invented and patented elastic and many women began to use this to pull their hair back, previously using ribbons. In 1986, Rommy Revson patented the scrunchie. It was a vast improvement from the elastic rubber bands that would get stuck or tangled.

---

In the 1800's Thomas Hancock invented and patented elastic and many women began to use this to pull their hair back, previously using ribbons. In 1986, Rommy Revson patented the scrunchie. It was a vast improvement from the elastic rubber bands that would get stuck or tangled.