When did the british leave hong kong?

At midnight on July 1, 1997, Hong Kong returned to Chinese control after 150 years of British colonial rule. The handover was meant to establish a 1 country, 2 systems relationship between China and Hong Kong that would last until 2047, with Hong Kong existing as a special administrative region.