What's in a german chocolate cake?

German's chocolate cake, is a layered chocolate cake from the U. S. filled and topped with a coconut-pecan frosting. Named after Samuel German, a chocolate maker who developed a formulation of dark baking chocolate that came to be used in the cake recipe. Maraschino cherries often garnish it.