What is a valencia peanut?

Valencia Peanuts are an incredibly versatile peanut grown in the sandy soils of New Mexico and the southwestern United States. Valencia peanuts are generally smaller and thinner shelled than Virginia peanuts but often come three to four nuts in a shell.