What is it mean when a dog wag their tail?

Tail wagging reflects a dog's excitement, with more vigorous wagging relating to greater excitement. The way a dog wags its tail also gives clues about what it's feeling. A tail wagging to the right indicates positive emotions, and a tail wagging to the left indicates negative emotions.