Can penguins breathe underwater?

No, penguins must come to the surface for air.

---

Penguins cannot breathe underwater but are able to hold their breath for a long time .

---

No, penguins cannot breathe underwater. However, the Emperor Penguin can hold its breath for up to 20 minutes!