What is the highline in new york city?

The High Line is a public park built on a historic freight rail line elevated above the streets on Manhattan's West Side. Saved from demolition by neighborhood residents and the City of New York, the High Line opened in 2009 as a hybrid public space where visitors experience nature, art, and design.