What is the quad muscle?

The quad muscle is the Quadriceps femoris, and it has four parts ... the rectus femoris, vastus lateralis, vastus medialis, and vastus intermedius. These muscles control extension of the lower leg and assist in standing, walking, jumping, dancing and almost all activities involving the legs.