What is the quad muscle?

The quad muscle is the Quadriceps femoris, and it has four parts ... the rectus femoris, vastus lateralis, vastus medialis, and vastus intermedius. These muscles control extension of the lower leg and assist in standing, walking, jumping, dancing and almost all activities involving the legs.

---

The quadriceps muscle is actually a group of four muscles in your front thigh that connect to your knee just below the knee cap. They straighten the knee to help you kick a ball. They bend your knee, enabling you to squat.