What is the definition of a lawyer?

A lawyer or attorney is a person who practices law, as an advocate, attorney at law, barrister, counsel, and counselor. What does a lawyer do easy definition? A lawyer (also called attorney, counsel, or counselor) is a licensed professional who advises and represents others in legal matters.