What is the scientific name of fool's gold?

The scientific name for fool's gold is iron pyrite. Pyrite is an iron sulfide with the chemical formula FeS2. Pyrite is the most abundant sulfide mineral. Pyrite's metallic luster and pale brass-yellow hue give it a superficial resemblance to gold, which is where the nickname came from.