Is hickory a hardwood?

Hickory is a hardwood. However, the term 'hardwood' relates to the type of tree, not the hardness of the wood it produces. Hickory is relatively soft, more so than many other hardwoods. Hardwoods are considered to be those woods coming from deciduous trees, those that lose their leaves.