Is jupiter a big ball of gas?

according to space.com,Composed mostly of hydrogen and helium,the massive Jupiter is much like a tiny star. it is the largest planet in the solar system,the gas giant just doesn't have the mass needed to push it into stellar status. When scientists call Jupiter a gas giant,they aren't exaggerating.