How do spiders climb?

Spiders have tiny hairs called setules on their feet. The setules trigger a reaction, known as the van der Waals force, that lets them adhere to a flat surface, almost like magnetism. Larger spiders are too heavy for this, and so many of them instead excrete a small adhesive that lets them climb.