What was the first movie that came out?

The very first movie was Eadweard Muybridge’s “The Horse in Motion” (1878). It was made of timed serial photos to answer a controversial question: Do all 4 feet of a galloping horse ever leave the ground simultaneously? They do! It was converted to a movie format and projected onto a screen in 1880.