How many characters are in super smash bro's?

The fighting game series Super Smash Bros. from Nintendo, launched in 1999, features an assortment of video game characters from different franchises. There over 80 playable characters across the series, primarily sourced from Nintendo franchises, in addition to a number of third-party games.