Did dale earnhardt ever win the daytona five hundred?

After 20 years of trying, Dale Earnhardt finally captured his elusive Daytona 500 victory in 1998. Kicking off NASCAR's 50th anniversary celebration, Earnhardt ended one of sports' greatest jinxes leading 107 laps, including the final 61, to win the 1998 Daytona 500 under caution.