How do spaceships fly?

The simple act of accelerating something in a particular direction (the rifle bullet or hot gases from a rocket exhaust) creates an equal force acting in the opposite direction. This reaction is what propels a spaceship upwards or through space, regardless of the presence of ground or atmosphere.