What is the use of neptunium?

The main use of neptunium-237 is in devices for detecting high-energy neutrons. Neptunium is dangerous. As well as radioactive, it's also pyrophoric, capable of spontaneously catching fire at room temperature. Neptunium was discovered in 1940 by Edwin McMillan and Philip H.