How many kurdish people are there?

The population is usually estimated at 35 million. The CIA Factbook estimates a Kurdish population of 12 million in Turkey, six million in Iran, about five to six million in Iraq, and less than two million in Syria, which adds up to close to 28 million Kurds in Kurdistan