What's the shelf life of baking powder?

Baking powder usually has a shelf life of 9 to 12 months. To test its freshness and usability, add a small amount to warm water. If it immediately fizzes, it's still fresh!

---

Baking powder usually has a shelf life of about 9 to 12 months. Testing it is super easy. Just stir about half a teaspoon of baking powder into a cup of hot water. It will immediately start to fizz and release carbon dioxide gas if it's still fresh enough to use.