What is a substitute for soda in baking?

Since baking soda is an ingredient of baking powder, baking powder is technically the best substitute for baking soda. Gan — who noted that any substitutions may change the texture and flavor of the final dish — recommended using three times the amount of baking powder in lieu of baking soda.