What's in nutritional yeast?

Nutritional yeast contains all nine essential amino acids that you must obtain from food. It's also a source of high quality plant protein ( 2 ). B vitamins. Fortified nutritional yeast is especially rich in B vitamins, including thiamine (B1), riboflavin (B2), niacin (B3), and B6 and B12 ( 2 ).