When did men start wearing neckties?

Most historians agree that the necktie originated in the 17th century, during the 30 year war in France. King Louis XIII hired Croatian mercenaries who wore a piece of cloth around their neck as part of their uniform. Alas, neckties do serve a function! They were used to tie the top of their jackets