How long does it take to run a full marathon?

In terms of average marathon times, the median marathon finishing time in 2016 for men in U.S. marathons was 4:22:07 (9:59 minutes per mile pace). The median finishing time for women was 4:47:40 (10:58 minutes per mile pace)