Why does spicy food make your nose run?

Spicy foods can be considered an irritant by your body that causes one's nose to run. This is most likely due to a condition known as Gustatory Rhinitis.

---

Spicy foods contains agents like OC (commonly used in pepper spray) that opens up the spores, causes your nasal cavities dilate and run, and your tear ducts to flow. Every person can have a slightly different reaction to such agents.