What's the difference between acrylic and tempera paint?

The main difference is how permanent they are when they dry. Tempera paint is washable and can be reactivated with water, so at most it's semi-permanent. Whereas acrylic paint dries permanently and is known for its lightfast qualities.

---

Tempera paint is basically chalk and water. Dried paint can be wetted and reused. It can be washed out of clothes. Acrylic paint also has a water base but when it is dry it will not rewet or wash out of fabric. Acrylic paint is color fast and won't fade in sunlight.