What's the area between mountains?

Usually the area between mountains is called a valley but depending on the terrain of the area in question the terms Gap, Pass, or Notch are also used. A Gap is a low area between two higher-elevation landmasses. Gaps are similar to passes, but more rugged and difficult to navigate.