Why do dogs like to chew on shoes?

Your dog's nose can smell a lot more than yours, so that shoe is a smorgasbord of your scent. ... Your dog might take to chewing on your shoe because he's teething. A teething puppy will chew on your shoe to relieve some of the pain. It hurts when teeth come in and gnawing on something is helpful.